instagrambattlecreaturesfacebookbattlecreatures twitterbattlecreatures

Impromptu with Angélica

Battle Creatures, Battle Creek, Michigan, LGBT, Queer Art, Y'all come back show

Angélica De Jesus has been a BATTLE CREATURES supporter since Day One. She was in Battle Creek recently to take in “Between the Lines.”  When she showed wearing our Gothic Snapback, I had to get some shots. She was nice enough to take a moment to do an impromptu shoot.

Battle Creatures, Battle Creek, Michigan, LGBT, Queer Art, Y'all come back show

 

Angélica is a performance and visual artist who has spent time in different regions, but most recently the South while living in Richmond, VA. She re-located to Michigan last year. Her self-description includes bisexual, bicultural, and bilingual. She is set to use her Art to focus on these traits during the upcoming “Y’all Come Back Show” at the San Francisco LGBT Center on Saturday June 13. The show will use Visual and Performance art to focus on “Queer Migration to and from the U.S. South” and “Queer Southern Identity.”

In her words, Angélica’s mixed-media installation piece will draw from indigenous traditions of storytelling & ancestral conocimiento.  “Decolonizing home: a counter (her)story project,” explores diaspora, queer southern femininity, migration and spirituality using sculpture, map making, and portraiture. It is the artist’s intention to create a space that encourages the expression of femme-ness & diaspora, sharing and mapping of origin stories, and inquiry around land. With this, she asks  “Who cared for these lands before we occupied them?” “How will they look like after we are gone?” and “What kind of ancestor will I be?”

angelica2

A live webcast will be available for people outside the Bay Area at 6:00 p.m. EST, 5:00 p.m. CST, and 3:00 p.m. PST on June 13. You can find more information on the show and webcast HERE and HERE

Words and Photos by: Justin Andert